INTRODUCTION

This documentary film relates the unique and tragic history of Thell, 28 years old, who has been dragged off with her relatives in a genocide which was to kill about 1.7 million people between 1975 and 1979 in Cambodia.

Welcome to Angkar

This sentence has been heard or said by millions of Cambodians between 1975 and 1979. When the Khmer Rouge came to power on April the 17th 1975, Phnom Penh was evacuated within 2 days. The population moving is justified by these mysterious words, repeated again and again: “Welcome to Angkar”.

The Angkar… This new regime is aiming at building an egalitarian society through strength and work and getting rid of intellectuals and ruling classes who were seen as perverted. The Angkar symbolizes the building of a new State, ruled by a single ideology, the Kampuchéa Communist Party one (Party also called the Angkar padevat).
Why this Project ?

We have met Thell through her eldest son; their history moved and shook us very deeply. As a lot of survivors – whether they choose to talk about it or not, Thell keeps unfailing memories of the events which happened during those dark times in Cambodia. And that is for one good reason: before the revolution, her family was about 60 people. Today, she only has her sister and her son left, a promise also, promise she made her father on his deathbed: survive and testify, for their ancestor’s history not to sink into oblivion.

With this documentary, we want to share with you this interlude in Cambodia’s history and to show you the lives and dignity of a family and a people, without following any chronological or historical tale of cold and impersonal events.

InnocentWomenIllustration

The History

lhistoire

April the 17th 1975, the Khmer Rouge entered Phnom Penh, capital of Cambodia. They emptied the city within 2 days and turned the country into a forced labour camp. Our documentary film starts precisely that day.

As for the whole population, Thell and her relatives are “invited” to take belongings “for 3 days only”. Very quickly, they realize the scope of the political project that is taking place under their powerless eyes. No, they will not be leaving “for 3 days only”.

But for how long? To go where? And to do what? In order to justify the unjustifiable, the Khmer Rouge repeat tirelessly as a leitmotiv: “Walk strait forward, Angkor will welcome you”. So road after road, village after village, Thell and her relatives started to forge their single goal: survive this horror.

Through the lives and dignity of a family, this documentary film mentions four years of starvation, illness, forced labour, during which this people cut off from the rest of the world has turned on itself.

THE TEAM

Partners

ECODREAMS

Artistic and ethic label created in 2014. It works for the emergence of hidden talents. Originally, there is a collective, Karreo, composed by people mad about music and picture. Today, EcoDreams units 10 contributors-specialists looking for new models for the artists (via the LaboDreams) and the project designers.

LUKARN

LUKARN Freelance society, created in 2009. The range of their activities is triple: distributing in France and worldwide a large choice of TV shows, producing or co-producing different types of shows and helping French or foreign producers to find additional funds for their broadcasting projects.

OVNI STUDIO

Structure specialized in audiovisual realization and production. It offers a full assistance for projects: from the development phase until the broadcasting stage, through the realization itself.

OMD CONSULTING

OMD Consulting is a consulting firm specializing in strategy, management and organization that assists private and public structures of the Indian Ocean in their strategic transformation projects, organizational and information systems. OMD Consulting builds on this project support experience to support project promoters in their cultural initiatives. It’s in this context that OMD Consulting accompanies Over The Moon Productions with the documentary “Welcome to Angkar”.

LA LANTERNE MAGIQUE

Created in 2002 in Saint-Denis (La Réunion, France), this association is totally dedicated to the broadcasting of all forms of films, the awakening of perception and imagination as well as the creation based on moving-pictures. Its actions? Film projection programming, workshop and meeting supervision and dissemination of the achievements in La Réunion and beyond.

KARREO

Audiovisual designers collective founded in 2009. Carried by the ecoDreams label, it units musicians, directors and producers moved by the same envy to sublimate stories with a strong artistic identity. It already counts a few short films, video clips and now a documentary, thanks to the “Angkar will welcome you” project.

Over the moon Productions

Over the moon Productions Freelance society created in 2012 specialized in sound and picture, it develops documentaries, short films, video clips, corporate videos or commercials, with a professional team.

CONTACT

You want to broadcast the film, organize a screening, schedule a meeting with the team, or want to know anything about the documentary, contact us here :

photo_contact

Your name

Your email

Subject

Your message

PRESENTATION

Ce film-documentaire retrace l’histoire singulière et dramatique de Thell, 28 ans, embarquée avec ses proches dans un génocide qui coûtera la vie à près de 1,7 millions de personnes, entre 1975 et 1979, au Cambodge.

Angkar va vous recevoir

Cette phrase, des millions de cambodgiens l’ont entendue ou prononcée, entre 1975 et 1979. Lors de l’accession au pouvoir des Khmers rouges, le 17 avril 1975, Phnom Penh est évacuée en 48h. Le déplacement des populations est justifié par ces paroles mystérieuses, inlassablement répétées :“Angkar va vous recevoir”.

L’Angkar…. Ce nouveau régime cherche à construire une société égalitaire par la force et le travail, en éliminant les intellectuels et les classes dominantes considérées comme perverties. L’Angkar symbolise la structuration d’un nouvel État dominé par une idéologie unique, celle du Parti communiste du Kampuchéa (Angkar padevat).
POURQUOI CE PROJET ?

Nous avons rencontré Thell par l’intermédiaire de son fils aîné ; leur histoire nous a profondément touchés et bouleversés. Comme beaucoup de survivants – qu’ils choisissent d’en parler ou non, Thell garde une mémoire indéfectible des évènements survenus durant cette période sombre du Cambodge, et pour cause : avant la révolution, sa famille comprenait une soixantaine de personnes. Il ne lui reste aujourd’hui que sa soeur, son fils, et une promesse faite à son père, au seuil de la mort : l’engagement de survivre, de témoigner, afin ne pas laisser tomber dans l’oubli l’histoire de leurs ancêtres.

Avec ce documentaire nous souhaitons vous faire partager cette parenthèse de l’histoire du Cambodge, montrer la dignité et le vécu d’une famille et d’un peuple, sans tracer le récit historique et chronologique d’évènements impersonnels.

InnocentWomenIllustration

L'histoire de ce documentaire

lhistoire

Le 17 avril 1975, les Khmers rouges entrent dans Phnom Penh, capitale du Cambodge. Ils vident la ville en 48h et transforment le pays en camp de travail forcé. Notre film-documentaire débute précisément à cette date.

De même que pour l’ensemble de la population, Thell et ses proches sont “invités” à ne prendre des affaires “que pour trois jours”. Très vite, ils réalisent l’ampleur du projet politique qui s’installe sous leurs yeux impuissants. Non, ils ne partiront pas “pour trois jours”.

Mais pour combien de temps ? Pour aller où ? Et pour quoi faire ? Pour justifier l’injustifiable, les Khmers rouges répètent inlassablement, telle une ritournelle : “Avancez tout droit, Angkar va vous recevoir”. C’est donc route après route, village après village, que se forge cet objectif unique pour Thell et ses proches : survivre face à l’horreur…

À travers le vécu et la dignité d’une famille, ce film-documentaire évoque les quatre années de famines, de maladies, de travaux forcés, durant lesquelles ce peuple, coupé du reste du monde, s’est retourné contre lui-même…

EQUIPE

PARTENAIRES

ECODREAMS

C’est un label artistique d’un nouveau genre. En effet, depuis 2014 (date de sa création), il œuvre pour l’émergence de talents cachés. À l’origine/base de ce projet, il y a un collectif, KARREO, composé de passionnés de musique et d’images. Aujourd’hui, ecoDreams réunit 10 contributeurs-spécialistes à la recherche de nouveaux modèles pour les artistes (via le laboDreams) et les créateurs de projets.

LUKARN

Lukarn est une société indépendante créée en septembre 2009 dont l’activité est triple : la distribution en France et à l’international d’un large catalogue de programmes de télévision, la production ou la coproduction de différents genres de programmes et l’aide à des producteurs français ou étranger pour trouver des compléments de financement de leurs projets audiovisuels.

OVNI STUDIO

Structure spécialisée dans la réalisation et la production audiovisuelle. Elle propose un accompagnement total des projets : depuis la phase de développement jusqu’à la diffusion, en passant bien sûr par la réalisation elle-même.

OMD CONSULTING

OMD Consulting est un cabinet de conseil en stratégie, management et organisation qui accompagne les structures privées et publiques de l’Océan indien dans leurs projets de transformation stratégique, organisationnelle et systèmes d’information. OMD Consulting s’appuie sur cette expérience d’accompagnement de projets pour soutenir des porteurs de projets dans leurs initiatives culturelles. C’est dans ce contexte que OMD Consulting accompagne aujourd’hui Over The Moon Productions pour le documentaire « Angkar va vous recevoir ».

LA LANTERNE MAGIQUE

Créée en 2002 à Saint-Denis de la Réunion, cette association se consacre à la diffusion de films sous toutes ses formes, à l’éveil des regards et de l’imagination ainsi qu’à la création à partir d’images en mouvement. Comment ? Programmation de projections, encadrement d’ateliers/de rencontres et diffusion des créations à la Réunion et au-delà.

KARREO

Un collectif de créatifs audiovisuels fondé en 2009, rassemblés par l’envie commune de raconter des histoires au travers de Bande Son Originales, Courts Métrages, Clips Musicaux, et à présent le Documentaire grâce au projet « Angkar va vous recevoir« . Porté par le Label ecoDreams, Karreo réuni des profils de réalisateurs, musiciens, producteurs de contenus au service de la narration de projets à forte identité artistique.

Over the moon Productions

Over the moon Productions est une société indépendante de l’image et du son crée en 2012. Celle ci développe avec une équipe professionnel des documentaires / Courts Métrages / Clip / Vidéos institutionnel / Pub / …

CONTACT

Vous souhaitez diffuser le film, organiser une projection, programmer une rencontre avec l’équipe ou toute autre information, contactez-nous ici :

photo_contact

Votre Nom

Votre Email

Sujet

Votre Message